Melbourne and Edinburgh time difference is 9 hours


If you are located in Melbourne and would like to make a phone call to or have a video chat with someone in Edinburgh, due to the large time difference of 9 hours between these two cities You will have to organise it out of your regular working hours. Edinburgh time is 9 hours behind Melbourne time. So the ideal time to get in touch with the other party in Edinburgh would be between 6pm to 2am (Melbourne time).

See distance from Melbourne to Edinburgh

Time difference comparison

12 am Melbourne3pm previous day Edinburgh
1 am Melbourne4pm previous day Edinburgh
2 am Melbourne5pm previous day Edinburgh
3 am Melbourne6pm previous day Edinburgh
4 am Melbourne7pm previous day Edinburgh
5 am Melbourne8pm previous day Edinburgh
6 am Melbourne9pm previous day Edinburgh
7 am Melbourne10pm previous day Edinburgh
8 am Melbourne11pm previous day Edinburgh
9 am Melbourne12am Edinburgh
10 am Melbourne1am Edinburgh
11 am Melbourne2am Edinburgh
12 pm Melbourne3am Edinburgh
1 pm Melbourne4am Edinburgh
2 pm Melbourne5am Edinburgh
3 pm Melbourne6am Edinburgh
4 pm Melbourne7am Edinburgh
5 pm Melbourne8am Edinburgh
6 pm Melbourne9am Edinburgh
7 pm Melbourne10am Edinburgh
8 pm Melbourne11am Edinburgh
9 pm Melbourne12pm Edinburgh
10 pm Melbourne1pm Edinburgh
11 pm Melbourne2pm Edinburgh

The hours shown in blue color are the usual 9 am to 5 pm business hours.

Change of time difference between Melbourne and Edinburgh

Date Time difference
06 October 2019 to
29 March 2020 (DST begins in Edinburgh)
11 hours
29 March 2020 to
05 April 2020 (DST ends in Melbourne)
10 hours
05 April 2020 to
25 October 2020 (DST ends in Edinburgh)
9 hours

Time difference between AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time) and BST (British Summer Time) is 9 hours

Melbourne - Australia

  • Time zone: AEST - Australian Eastern Standard Time
  • Time zone offset: UTC/GMT +10
  • DST started on: 06 October 2019
  • DST ended on: 05 April 2020
    When Daylight Saving Time is observed, the time zone in Melbourne changes to AEDT (Australian Eastern Daylight Time).

Edinburgh - UK

  • Time zone: BST - British Summer Time
  • Time zone offset: UTC/GMT +1
  • DST started on: 29 March 2020
  • DST will end on: 25 October 2020
    When Daylight Saving Time ends, the time zone in Edinburgh will return to GMT (Greenwich Mean Time).